Cross Vote: BJP expels 8 rebel MPs

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Jul 23: BJP expelled eight rebel MPs who cross-voted or abstained on Tuesday, July 22 Trust vote. Speaking to the media, a day after the trust vote L K Advani the Leader of Opposition in Lok Sabha said these MPs will be expelled from Parliament. He said UPA victory is a tainted victory in Parliament. He also said if not for the cross-voting, UPA would have lost Trust vote motion.The BJP leader also demanded that the Speaker Somnath Chatterjee should investigate the cash-for-votes scam immediately. He compared the cash-for-votes scam to 1989 Bofors case.

Three of the BJP MPs didn't turn up for voting. Four cross-voted and One was present in the House but didn't vote. Ten members remained absent or abstained from Tuesday, July 22 Confidence vote motion moved by Prime Minister Manmohan Singh. In the division of votes, the UPA Government got 275 votes in its favour, while 256 voted against it. BJP leader Rajnath Singh told media that BJP will launch a nationwide protest against this incident.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...