Committee to determine backwardness of tribes

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Kohima, Jul 22 (UNI) The Nagaland government has constituted a five-member committee to study the backwardness of nine tribes in the state as well as to give suggestions for their development and recommendations for job reservations.

Official sources said here today retired IAS officer K Kevichusa would head the Committee and the Joint Secretary of Personal and Administrative Reforms would be the member secretary.

The other members of the committee are retired IAS officer Tali Longkumer, Reader in Nagaland University Dr Rajendra Singh and Lecturer in Nagaland University T Lorenthung Ezung.

The committee has been constitued to evolve criteria for identifying socio-economic backwardness of tribes in the state, study the socio-economic conditions and status of the nine tribes - Chang, Khiamniungan, Konyak, Sangtam, Phom, Yimchunger, Chakhesang, Pochury and Zeliang - as well as those of the Sumis of Kiphire district.

The committee will also identify the tribes and recommend privileges, including job reservation, reservation in educational institutions, and suggest suitable organisational mechanisms at the government level to identify or review the backwardness of the tribes on a regular basis and monitor the implementation of various privileges extended to them.

The committee will submit its report to the state government within four months, the sources said.


Please Wait while comments are loading...