BJP slams UPA govt with novel slogans during trust vote debate

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Jul 22 (UNI) Before the final vote of confidence felled them and their spirits in the Lok Sabha, BJP MPs raised a volley of earthy slogans to pin down the UPA government today over the alleged bribery scandal which left the government red-faced.

After the recess, when the House was first adjourned following the 'notegate' and just as Mehbooba Mufti of the People's Democratic Party (PDP) rose to begin her speech favouring the vote of confidence, BJP MPs came to the aisle and shouted ''Pradhan Mantri istifa do; istifa do, istifa do'' (Prime Minister resign)''.

Soon, others from the party joined them calling upon Prime Minister Manmohan Singh ''Sharam karo, sharam karo'' (be ashamed).

Later some back-benchers shouted ''Shame Shame, Shame Shame'' pointing towards the treasury benches.

Soon after, when National Conference's Omar Abdullah started his speech, denouncing the BJP's stand on the nuclear deal, members of the main opposition, facing the Congress members, shouted: ''Kharid farokht ki yeh sarkar, nahin chalegi, nahin chalegi (this government indulging in buying and surreptitious dealing will not last)'' and ''Noton se jo vote khareede, woh sarkar nikammi hai(the government which buys votes with money is worthless)''.

This was followed by them targeting Speaker Somnath Chatterjee and asking him to ''Pesh karo, pesh karo; ghoos ki CD pesh karo (bring the bribery CD before the House)''.

Joining them was Mohammad Salim of the CPI-M, who while pointing towards the Congress, said, ''Paisebazi, saudebazi, nahin chalegi (money power and wheeling-dealing will not work)''.


Please Wait while comments are loading...