Six independents reiterate support to BJP govt in Karantaka

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bangalore, Jun 26 (UNI) The six independent legislators who have extended the crucial support to the BJP governmet in Karnataka after the saffron party fell short three seats to gain simple majority in the recent Assembly elections, have once again pledged their 'unconditional' support.

Addressing in a joint press conference in which all the six legislators, including five ministers, were present they said there was no problem in supporting BJP.

Mr Venkataramanappa, one of the six legislators and minister for Small scale industries and sericulture, said that they were presenting themselves before the media to make clear their stand on supporting the BJP government. "This is unconditional and we will endure our support for the next five years. There is no question of a rethink on extending our support to BJP government in Karnataka," he said.

Mr Narendra Swamy, another legislator and is the minister for Social Welfare stated the six independents had decided to make a common cause in approaching the Chief Minister on any matter.

He claimed that no minister among independent legislators were unhappy about their portfolios. He said that they had discussed the issue of both portfolio allocation and not appointing among them as district in-charge ministers with the Chief Minister.

"Mr Yeddyurappa has promised us to look into the issues which we have raised," Mr Swamy said and expressed confidence that the Chief Minister would take note of their 'feelings' in the future.

There was no proposal before them to form a 'common platform, and all of them would remain as independents and would not join the saffron party or be its associate members, he said.

Youth services and Textile minsiter Gulihatti Shekhar, APMC minister Shivaraj Thangadagi, Social Welfare minister D Sudhakar and Kolar MLA Varthur Prakash were also present in the press conference.


Please Wait while comments are loading...