Maharashtra men pip Chattisgarh by 7-6

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Chandigarh, Jun 26 (UNI) Maharashtra snatched a thrilling 7-6 verdict against plucky Chattisgarh in a closely contested men's pool G match in the 30th Senior National Softball Championship being conducted by Chandigarh Softball Association at the Panjab University Campus here today.

Rohit and Jagat completed two home runs each while Chetan, Mayur and Visvash contributed one each as Maharashtra emerged winners with a wafer thin margin. Chattisgarh who matched their rivals in all departments of the game scored through Pradeep (92), Jagmohan, Bhupendeer, JN Reddy and Deenu (1 each).

In a high-scoring Pool B encounter, Pudicherry prevailed over Uttrakhand by 16-14. G Shridhar, T Mathivan (3 each), A Ganesh Venkat, M Chandru, A Mahendra (2 each) served Pudicherry well.

Uttrakhand's star performers were Sunil Kumar, Anubhav, Ankit, Madhav, Darshan (2 each). Later, Puddicherry were blanked by Madhya Pradesh by 0-10.

Hosts Chandigarh men and women recorded victories in their respective categories. In the men's section, Chandigarh outclassed Pudicherry by 10-0. In women's pool E encounter, Chandigarh handed out a 13-0 drubbing to West Bengal.

Results: Women: Pool E: Chandigarh bt West Bengal 13-0.

Chandigarh scorers: Sonia Sharma, Gurpreet, Sonia, Amanpreet (2 home runs each), Pooja, Jyoti, Nikita, Sangita and Manu (1 each).

Pool B: Goa bt Chattisgarh 7-3. Main scorers for Goa: Sharda, Jeesica, Shantui (2 each).

Men: Pool A: Chandigarh bt Tamil Nadu 10-0. Ravinder and Sandeep completed two home runs each for Chandigarh.

Pool B: Pudicherry bt Uttrakhand 16-14. AP's main scorers: G Shridhar, T Mathivan (3 each), A Ganesh Venkat, M Chandru, A Mahendra (2 each). Uttrakhand's main scorers: Sunil Kumar, Anubhav, Ankit, Madhav, Darshan (2 each). Madhya Pradesh bt Pudicherry 10-0.

Main scorers for MPAmit, Sachin, Ravinder (2 each).

Pool C: Goa bt Manipur 21-0. Main scorers for Goa: Laxmikant, Navnath,Siddesh, Chandresh (3 each), Chetan, Garvesh, Ivagrash (2 each). Goa bt Jharkhand 13-2.Main scorers for Goa: Chean, Narnath, Chandresh, Gauresh (2 each).

Pool D: Jammu and Kashmir outclassed Orissa by 13-3 in Pool D fixture. Tadasur top scored with four home runs while Aman scored a brace for winners.

Pool E: Kerala bt Indian Oil Corporation 9-3. Nitin, Sonu scored two each for Kerala. Laxman scored two for IOC.

Pool F: Manipur bt Uttar Pradesh 10-0. Manipur scorers: Nongthang, Tingular (2 each), Dev Dutta, Raju,.Deepak, Shankar, Anikuteal and Suresh (one each).

Pool G: Maharashtra bt Chattisgarh 7-6. Maharashtra's scorers: Rohit, Jagat (2 each), Chetan, Mayur and Visvash (1 each) .Chattisgarh's scorers: Pradeep (2), Jagmohan, Bhupender, JN Reddy, Deenu (1 each).

Pool H: Andhra Pradesh bt West Bengal 11-0. Main scorers for AP: Shrinath and Ashish (2 each).


Please Wait while comments are loading...