LC polls: 4 file papers from Nagpur, 2 from Amravati

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Nagpur, Jun 25 (UNI) As many as four candidates filed their papers for next month's election to the Maharashtra Legislative Council from Nagpur Division Graduates constituency, and two from Amravati Division Teachers constituency today.

Among the four who submitted their nominations for the Nagpur Division Graduates constituency was Dr Baban Taywade, an independent candidate supported by the Congress and the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP). Dr Taywade, the principal of a local college, filed his nomination at the district collector's office here this afternoon, official sources said.

Pradip Motiram Padole, fielded by Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), filed his nomination at the district collector's office in Bhandara. Mr Padole's nomination marks the first time contesting of BSP in an election to the Upper House in the state. Independent candidate Manoj Pauljhagade submitted his papers in Gondia, while another independent Milind Bhaurao Thombre did so in Wardha.

Sitting member Vasant Khotre filed his nomination for the Amravati Division Teachers constituency in Amravati. A total of two candidates submitted their papers for this constituency today, taking the number who have entered the fray so far to nine, the sources added.

Elections are slated to be held for the two seats in Nagpur Division Graduates constituency and Amravati Division Teachers constituency along with three seats in Aurangabad and Pune Division Graduates constituency and Pune Division Teachers constituency of the upper house on July 15. The seats fall vacant on July 19. Nitin Gadkari of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), who is also the chief of the party's state unit, is the sitting member from Nagpur Division Graduates constituency.


Please Wait while comments are loading...