5 nominated to Karnataka upper house

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bangalore, Jun 21 (UNI) The Karnataka Government tonight nominated five people, including state Minister for Minority and Wakf Prof Mumtaz Ali Khan, to the Karnataka Legislative Council here.

According to official sources, the State Government appointed Prof Mumtaz Ali Khan, Dr Doraiswamy Naidu (Educationist), Mr Vijay Shankeshwar (Industrialist), Ms H R Leela (Musician) and Dr Doddarange Gowda (Poet).

The State Cabinet had authorised Karnataka Chief Minister B S Yeddyurappa to nominate five people who have done social service in different fields. Five seats the in Karnataka Legislative Council from the nominating category were lying vacant for long time.


Please Wait while comments are loading...