Hi-tech crime fighting in Arunachal

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Itanagar, Jun 20: Insurgency-hit Changlang district in Arunachal Pradesh is all set to go hi-tech in fighting crime as the police is finalizing the modalities to install state-of-the-art Crime and Criminal Tracking Network and Systems (CCTNS) with the help of National Informatics Center (NIC).

A high-level district committee meeting in this regard was held at Changlang yesterday in the office of Superintendent of Police (SP) to discuss on the early implementation of the project. SP Kime Aya and District Informatics Officer Radhe Hinda had a detailed discussion on making available services of NICNET and Community Informatics Centers (CICs) to police stations (PS) and facilitating CCTNS project, which is commonly known as Common Integrated Police Application (CIPA).

According to Hinda, the CIPA is a central initiative for computerization of police station activities, which aims at automation of all functions carried out at the police station. CIPA software has been designed and developed by the NIC in English with multilingual interface developed for other Indian languages. Hinda further informed that implementation of CIPA at police stations would be done in phase wise manner. In the first phase ten per cent of the police stations (1,400 PS) of the country have been taken up and approximately 3,700 PS are going to be covered in the second phase.

To monitor the project, a performa has been designed to capture the implementation status of CIPA at police stations. State Crime Records Bureau has been advised to send the fortnightly status of project implementation at their respective PS in the prescribed performa.

Moreover, multi party video conferencing are also being organized to speed up the work.

Hinda informed that CIPA is operational at ten per cent police stations in Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Delhi, Goa, Gujarat, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu&Kashmir, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Kerala, Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Orissa, Punjab, Rajasthan, Sikkim, Uttaranchal and West Bengal.


Please Wait while comments are loading...