S M Krishna elected to Rajya Sabha from Karnataka

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

{image-sm krishna_19062008.jpg news.oneindia.in}Bangalore, Jun 19: Former Maharashtra Governor S M Krishna, Former Chief Justice of Punjab and Haryana Justice M Rama Jois and two others were declared elected unopposed to Rajya Sabha from Karnataka Assembly today.

Karnataka Legislative Assembly Secretary S B Patil, who is also Returning Officer, announced the election of Mr Krishna, Mr Anil Lad (Both Cong) and Justice M Rama Jois and Mr Prabhakar Kore (both BJP), as unopposed in the biennial election. Mr Patil said that there were only four nominations left for four seats after the last date of withdrawal of nomination ended today. He said that there were six nominations for the four Rajya Sabha seats and the papers of two independents, T D R Harishchandra and Padmaraj have been rejected during scrutiny as their nomination was not supported with the mandatory names of ten proposers and their signatures on Tuesday last.

The BJP, which had fielded Justice Rama Jois and Prabhakar Kore, enjoys a simple majority with 116 members including six independents in the house of 224, both the Congress which has 80 members and JD(S) (28 seats) had entered into an electoral understanding since the Congress lacked 10 votes to get its second candidate's win.

According to poll pact the 28-member JD(S) had extended support to Congress party's second candidate Anil Lad. In return the Congress agreed to support two JD(S) candidates in the Biennial elections to Karnataka Legislative Council.


Please Wait while comments are loading...