ONGC Delhi score second successive win

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Chandigarh, June 9 (UNI) Oil and Natural Gas Corporation of Delhi registered their second successive win as they defeated Indian Air Force 3 Base Repair Depot by 7-4 in the sixth Olympian Dharam Singh Memorial Six-a-Side Hockey Tournament being played at the Sector 18 Hockey Stadium here on Monday night.

The highlight of the match was a brilliant performance by ONGC's Rajdeep Singh who scored five goals and was rightly declared Man of the Match. Arun Rawat contributed a brace. Indian Air Force scored throuhg Alam (3) and Prabhakar (1). It was Air Force's second successive defeat.

Tushar Khandekar, Ravipal and Jarnail Singh formed a formidable trio as Bharat Petroleum Corporation Limited of Mumbai derailed Rail Coach Factory of Kapurthala by 16-11 in a high-scoring match.

Ravipal topscored with six goals. Tushar and Jarnail contributed five and four goals, respectively. Pundlik got one goal. For RCF, Gagandeep Singh (2), Sanjay (3), Paramjeet Singh (2), Gurpreet Singh (2) and Deepak (2) were the scorers. Ajay Saroha of BPCL was adjudged Man of the Match.

It was BPCL's first win after they were held to a nine-all draw by CISF yesterday. RCF suffered their first defeat. Central Industrial Security Force defeated Namdhari XI by 10-2 after leading 2-0 at half time.

Man of the Match energetic Cyril Ekka contributed half a dozen goals for the winners. Major Singh and Bharat Kumar made two goals each to complete CISF's tally. Dilbagh Singh scored both goals for Namdharis who had lost to RCF in their opening encounter yesterday.

In the last match of the second day's proceedings, Indian Oil Corporation got the better of Rock Rovers by 11-8.

Goal scorers for IOC were: Rajpal Singh (5), Prabhjot Singh (3), Bharat (1), Jaswinder (1) and Roshan Minz (1).

For Rock Rovers Navdeep Singh (2), Harman Singh (2), Davinder Kumar (1), Manmohan Singh (1), Gurtej Singh (1) and Davinder Singh (1) were the goal-getters. Nitin of Indian Oil Corporation was declared Man of the Match.


Please Wait while comments are loading...