New members deviate from format, take oath in different names

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bangalore, Jun 4 (UNI) Two newly-elected BJP MLAs stunned the Karnataka Assembly, which met here today for the first time, by taking oath in the name of Mr G Janardhana Reddy, a Minister elected from Bellary.

Chief Minister B S Yeddyurappa, who was first to take oath, had already set a new precedent by taking the oath in the name of farmers and God.

First time MLA Nagendra (BJP), elected from Kottur in Bellary District and Mr Nemiraj Nayak (BJP) of Kudligi took oath in the name of Mr Reddy, a powerful BJP leader and mining magnate from Bellary.

Other members also surprised the House with their oath taking.Mr Kimmane Ratnakar (Cong) took oath in the name of Socialist Leader Shantaveri Gopala Gowda and Former Chief Minister Kadidal Manjappa, Mr K M Krishnamurthy in the name of Mahathma Gandhi and Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose, Mr M P Renukacharya (BJP) and Sunil Valyapur (BJP) in the name of Mr Yeddyurappa.

Minister Krishnaiah Setty (BJP) affirmed to discharge his duties in the name of Lord Venkateswara of Tirupati and Jaggesh (Cong) in Lord Raghavendra Swamy of Mantralaya.

BJP Yuva Morcha State President C T Ravi took oath in the name of the controversial Dattapeeta Shrine. Minister Narendra Swamy (Ind) took oath in Dr B R Ambedkar's name.

For the first time in five decades, the Maharashtra Ekikarana Samiti (MES) was absent as none of its members got elected.

Opposition Leader Mallikarjuna Kharge who took oath in the name of God objected to members taking oath in the name of their choice deviating from official format.

However, Mr K G Bopaiah, who was in the Chair, reminded Mr Kharge of such practices being in existence for several decades.


Please Wait while comments are loading...