Mallikarjun Kharge was elected as CLP leader

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bangalore, May 28 (UNI) Senior Congress leader and KPCC president Mallikarjun Kharge was elected as Congress Legislative Party leader in Karnataka. AICC General Secretary, incharge Karnataka, Prithviraj Chavan announced here today.

Speaking to newsmen after a day-long meeting with the newly elected party Legislators here, he said that Mr Kharge's name was proposed by Siddaramaiah and it was seconded by Mr D K Shivkumar.

Mr Chavan said that Mr Kharge, who met AICC Supremo Sonia Gandhi in New Delhi yesterday, had tendered his resignation to Pradesh Congress Committee Presidentship.

"New President for the State Unit would be elected soon" he added.

Mr Mallikarjuna Kharge has got elected to Karnataka assembly for the record ninth time in a row in the just concluded assembly elections.


Please Wait while comments are loading...