65 pc voter turnout in K'taka Assembly polls

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bangalore, May 23 (UNI) About 65 per cent of the total 4.03 crore electorate have exercised franchise in the three-phased elections to the Karnataka Assembly, which concluded yesterday.

According to the Election Commission sources, 63.14 per cent voter turnout was recorded in the first phase polls to 89 seats on May 10, 67.71 per cent in the second phase in 66 constituencies on May 16 and 64.27 per cent in the third and final phase elections for 69 seats in eight Northern Karnataka districts yesterday.

In the third phase, Haveri district ranked top with 72 per cent polling, followed by Belgaum (70), Bagalkot (67), Gadag (65.5), Dharwad (64.85), Bijapur (60), Bidar (57.17) and Gulbarga (56.7).

In the May 10 elections, Bangalore Rural district clocked the highest poll percentage of 78 and Bangalore Urban the least at 49 per cent. In the second phase, Udupi recorded the highest voter turnout of 75 per cent and Raichur the lowest at 54.01 per cent.

For the first time in the country, elections to the 224-member Karnataka Assembly was held after implementing the recommendations of the Delimitation Commission, headed by Mr Justice Kuldip Singh.


Please Wait while comments are loading...