4 candidates in fray for Terlam's last election

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Vizianagaram, May 18 (UNI) Four cadidates are left in the fray for the by-election to Terlam Assembly constituency, the last election in the history of the constituency, in Andhra Pradesh.

Talking to UNI after reviewing the by-election arrangements here last night, Election observer for Terlam Susheel Kumar said of the total six candidates, who filed the nominations papers, only four candidates remained in the fray as Mr Tentu Suryanarayana's nomination was rejected by the Returning Officer and Mr B Apparao Babjee (Lok Satta dummy candidate) has withdrawn his nominations.

The contestants for the by-election are TDP candidate Tentu Lakshmi Naidu, Lok Satta Party nominee Reddi Lakshmi Naidu and Independent candidates Y Simhachalam and G Mahesam.

The Congress, for the first time, is out of the fray following the understanding reached with the TDP in the by-election to the constituency, which was formed in 1978.

Elections in Terlam have traditionally been a fight between 'Vasireddy' and 'Tentu' families. While Tentu Jayaprakash (TDP), whose death caused the by-election, won the seat five times, V V Rama Rao, MLC, was elected twice.

After this by-election, the constituency would be merged with Bobbili in the delimitation exercise.

Lok Satta Party has queered the pitch for the TDP by throwing its hat in the ring in order to oppose dynastic politics.

Interestingly, all the four candidates are in the age group of 27 to 35 years, well-qualified and political novices. The absence of a Congress candidate, the Tentu's family name and the sympathy following Tentu Jayaprakash's death are the major plus points for Tentu Lakshmi Naidu, the heir apparent of Jayaprakash.

Mr Rama Rao had called upon party cadres, traditional Congress voters and sympathisers to vote for the TDP.


Please Wait while comments are loading...