Congress appoints new unit presidents

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Lucknow, May 7: Uttar Pradesh Congress committee (UPCC) today appointed district and city unit presidents after the resignation of leaders in support of the former Union Minister of state Akhilesh Das, who resigned from Rajya Sabha and Congress party yesterday.

Sirajwali Khan and Shyam Kishore Shukla have been made the acting president of Congress district unit and Congress city unit respectively, UPCC president Rita Bahuguna Joshi said.

The seat fell vacant after former unit presidents Vipin Bihari and Achal Malhotra resigned from the post following the resignation of city mayor Akhilesh Das.

Mr Das had quit congress after attacking Rahul Gandhi and the alleged coterie around him.


Please Wait while comments are loading...