Eight naxals arrested, five surrender in AP

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Warangal, May 5: Five CPI (Maoist) naxals, including two women, surrendered before the police and eight naxals of the CPI (ML) 'Praja Pratighatana' were arrested in this district today.

Police said Khammam Division Committee Maoist Member K Batakaiah alias Naveen, carrying Rs three lakh reward on his head, Dallam Commanders D Sampath, Ms K Rajakka, Ms V Bhemavva alias Nirmala and V Samba Rao surrendered before district police officials due to ill-health and their disillusionment with the extremist ideology.

Meanwhile, eight Praja Pratighatana naxals were arrested from two places and police rcovered three eight mm rifles, three nine-mm pistols and a .38 revolver without cylinder from them.

'Praja Pratighatana' state committee Secretary D Mogili alias Murali, District President B Sambaiah and Commander T Srinivas were arrested during vehicle checking at Muniplli village.

In another incident in Warangal town, five 'Pratighatana' naxals were arrested while they were proceeding towards Karim Nagar from Hanumakonda.

Zonal Committee Secretaries S Shankar, M Raju, Members B Tirupati, M Pulinder and M Sarangapani were apprehended.

Meanwhile, on a tip off, the Mulugu police seized one eight mm rifle with 30 live ammunition at Bugga Chervu on the outskirts of Pathipali village in the same district during a combing operation.


Please Wait while comments are loading...