CPI(M) announces candidates for bypoll in AP

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Hyderabad, Apr 28 (UNI) The CPI(M) today announced the names of two candidates for Musheerabad and Cheryal Assembly constituencies in the by-elections to be held in 18 Assembly and four Lok Sabha seats on May 29 in Andhra Pradesh.

Speaking to UNI here, Party state assistant secretary Y Venkateswara Rao said CITU State General Secretary S Veeraiah would contest from Musheerabad Assembly seat, while A Malla Reddy, party Divisional Secretary in Warangal district, would fight from Cheryal constituency in the district.

Stating that the names were finalised in the state party secretariat meeting, presided over by party state secretary B V Raghavulu and held at the party office, Mr Rao said the party would take a final decision on forging alliance with other political parties, including the opposition Telugu Desam Party (TDP), at its polit bureau meeting to be held tomorrow.

The CPM's strategy in other constituencies, where the party would not field its candidates, would also be chalked out in the polit bureau meeting, he added.

The bypoll was necessitated following the resignation of 16 MLAs and four Lok Sabha MPs of Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) and due to the sudden death of senior Congress leader P Janardhan Reddy and TDP MLA T Jayaprakash, representing Khairatabad and Terlam constituencies in Vizianagaram district respectively.


Please Wait while comments are loading...