JD(S) issues list of 89 candidates for Karnataka polls

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Apr 23 (UNI) Janata Dal(Secular) today issued its first list of 89 candidates for the Karnataka Assembly election.

JD(S) Veteran leader and former Chief Minister H D Kumaraswamy will contest for the second time from Ramnagaram Assembly seat. The party has fielded 25 outgoing MLAs in the elections and the list also contains six Muslim candidates.

Party's General Secretary Kunwar Danish Ali told UNI here that 25 outgoing candidates had been fielded in the contest while former minister D Jayamukh was not given the ticket.

Polling for the first phase of the three-phased election will take place on May 10.

Mr Ali said JD (S) would contest on all seats alone and would not form an alliance with anyone. He claimed that the seats going for polls in the first phase were strongholds of the JD(S) and the party hoped to win on more than 60 seats in the first phase.


Please Wait while comments are loading...