Cong selection panel for Amritsar South Assembly bypoll

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Chandigarh, Apr 17 (UNI) The Punjab Pradesh Congress Committee (PPCC) today announced the formation of a five-member Search Committee for choosing a formidable candidate for the Amritsar South Assembly constituency, by-election for which will be held on May 22, along with the bypolls in other states.

The panel will be headed by PPCC Working President Mohinder Singh Kaypee. The members of the panel are MLA's, Lal Singh, Partap Bajwa and Tej Parkash Singh and former minister Dr Harbans Lal.

Making this announcement here, PPCC chief spokesperson Bir Davinder Singh said the panel will leave for Amritsar today for making an on the spot study of the constituency. The panel will meet local leaders and the voters of the area and then submit its report and their comments to PPCC chief Rajinder Kaur Bhattal by April 21.

Thereafter, Mrs Bhattal will forward the choice of the likely candidate or candidates to the party high command for a final decision.

Regarding the Zila Parishad and Panchayat Samiti polls to be held on May 12, Mr Singh said the Congress would fight the Parishad elections on the party symbol on all 20 seats. However, the Panchayat Samiti polls will, by and large, be fought on the party symbol, but where-ever adjustments have to be made with like-minded political parties or individuals, the election would be contested on any other symbol, he added.

The PPCC spokesperson announced for the selection of candidates for the polls to the two Panchyati Raj Institutions (PRIs), committees headed by the PPCC vice presidents had been formed. The District Congress Committee (DCC) presidents, general secretaries, MLA's, former MLA's, candidates concerened, who had unsuccessfully contested the last Assembly polls and Block Congress heads, will be its members.

These selection committees will invite applications from the prospective candidates from April 23 to 26. Then of April 27, the committee will forward the list of candidates along with comments to PPCC chief Rajinder Kaur Bhattal. The final list of candidates to the two PRIs would be announced on April 30.

Mr Singh said the party is fully geared for the election to the PRIs, including Gram Panchayats, polls for which will be held in the last week of May.


Please Wait while comments are loading...