Notification for first phase K'taka polls issued

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bangalore, Apr 16: The notification for the first of the three phase Karnataka polls, covering 89 assembly constituencies, scheduled to be held on May 10, was issued today, setting off the process to constitute 224-member 13th state Assembly.

The Office of the Chief Electoral Officer (OCEC) has issued notification for the first phase polling for 89 constituencies.

The process of receiving nominations began in 11 districts.

Bangalore, Bangalore Rural, Ramanagaram, Chamarajanagar, Mysore, Chickballapur, Mandya, Hassan, Tumkur, Kolar and Kodagu districts are the 11 districts where elections will be held on May 10.

The EC has fixed April 23 as the last date for submitting nominations while scrutiny of applications will be on April 24. The last date for the withdrawal of nominations was fixed on April 26 for the first phase poll.

The office of the OCEC informed UNI that the notifications for the first phase poll has also been issued by the respective district electoral officers in the 11 districts for the 89 assembly seats and the process of receiving nominations has also started.

The EC has also issued notice to all the district electoral officers to take adequate measures against the violations of the code of conduct by the contestants and their supporters.

The second phase of the assembly elections will be held on May 16 for 66 assembly seats falling in ten districts, while the third and the final phase of elections to 69 seats in eight districts of the state will be held on May 22.

The counting of votes will be taken up on May 25.


Please Wait while comments are loading...