BJP approves 14 candidates for Karnataka assembly poll

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Apr 16 (UNI) The top leadership of the BJP today approved the names of 14 candidates for the assembly elections in Karnataka, to be held next month.

Among the 14 candidates approved by the party are Abhay Patil (Belgaum Dakshin constituency), Nagesh K Desai (Belgaum Rural), M K Pattana Shetty (Badami) Dr Mallana Gowda Patil (Shahpur) and Basana Gowda Daddal (Raichur Rural-ST).

The party also approved the names of S Thippeswamy (Molakalmur-ST), S D Rajesh (Jagalur-ST), Yashwanth Rao Jadav (Devangere South), Haratal Halappa (Soraba), Ravi Narayan Reddy (Gouribidanur), Dr Hemchandra Sagar (Chickpet), Nagaraj (Nelamangala-SC), Ms Pooja Santhosh (Shrirangapattana) and D Somana (Hanur).

BJP General Secretary Ananth Kumar said the names were approved by party President Rajnath Singh today.

Meanwhile, the notification for the first of the three phase Karnataka polls, covering 89 assembly constituencies, scheduled to be held on May 10, was issued today, setting off the process to constitute 224-member 13th state Assembly.

The second phase of the assembly elections will be held on May 16 for 66 assembly seats falling in ten districts, while the third and the final phase of elections to 69 seats in eight districts of the state will be held on May 22.

The counting of votes will be taken up on May 25.


Please Wait while comments are loading...