Moderate and incident-free polling in UP bypolls

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Lucknow, Apr 12 (UNI) Bypolls for the two Parliamentary seats of Khalilabad and Azamagarh and three Assembly seats of Colonelganj (Gonda), Muradnagar (Ghaziabad) and Bilgram (Hardoi) in Uttar Pradesh passed off peacefully today amid reports of moderate turnout.

''According to the reports of state headquarters, it was an incident-free polling,''UP Chief Electoral Officer Anuj Kumar Bishnoi told UNI here.

The estimated voting percentage in Khalailabad and Azamgarh Parliamentary constituencies was 33 and 41, the CEO said. In three Assembly constituencies, the average voting percentage was about 50 per cent.

Results of the bypolls would be declared on April 16.

Polling started on a low note in the morning, but picked up later in the day. No incident of violence was reported from anywhere.

Elaborate security arrangements had been made to ensure fair and free polls.

Bypolls to two Parliamentary constituencies were necessiated after Mr Ramakant Yadav, the sitting MP from Azamgarh and Mr Bhalchand, the sitting MP from Khalilabad, were declared disqualified.

In Assembly constituencies of Colonelganj and Muradnagar, bypolls were held due to the resignation of respective MLAs holding the seats while in Bilgram Assembly constituency, the bypoll was required following the death of BSP member Upendra Tiwari.


Please Wait while comments are loading...