Atwal heads seven-member Indian delegation to IPU

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Apr 10 (UNI) A seven-member Parliamentary delegation headed by Deputy Lok Sabha Speaker Charnjit Singh Atwal today left for Cape Town to attend the 118th Assembly of the Inter-Parliamentary Union from April 13 to 18.

Besides Mr Atwal, the delegation has six Members of Parliament-- 4 from Lok Sabha and 2 from Rajya Sabha. Besides the delegation also includes two senior officials-one each from Rajya Sabha and Lok Sabha.

The Members of the delegation are Mr Lalit Mohan Suklabaidya, Mrs Preneet Kaur, Mr Hansraj Gangaram Ahir, Prof Basudeb Barman (all from Lok Sabha),Mr D.K. Malaisamy and Mr Jesudasu Seelam (both from Rajya Sabha).

The officials are Mr R.K. Singh, OSD (Rajya Sabha Secretariat) and Mr S. Bal Shekar, Joint Secretary (Lok Sabha Secretariat).

The 146 member Parliamentary Union will have general debate on on the political, economic and social situation in the world with the overall theme of 'Pushing back the frontiers of poverty'.

Other issues on the agenda are: the role of parliaments in striking a balance between national security, human security and individual freedom, and in averting the threat to democracy; Parliamentary oversight of State policies on foreign aid; and Migrant workers, people trafficking, xenophobia and human rights.


Please Wait while comments are loading...