Total 17 candidates submit papers for MP bypoll

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Betul, MP, Mar 26 (UNI) A total 17 candidates have submitted their nomination papers for the Betul Lok Sabha byelection.

''Today was the last date for doing so,'' said District Returning Officer Arun Kumar Bhatt.

Scrutiny would take place tomorrow and March 29 is the last date for withdrawal of candidature. Polling is scheduled for April 12.

The candidates are Hemant Khandelwal (Bharatiya Janata Party), Sukhdev Panse (Congress), Sunilam (Samajwadi Party), Mangal Singh (Samajwadi Janparishad), Kallu Singh Uike and Hira Singh Markam (both from the Gondwana Ganatantra Party that has suffered a split), independents Hoshiyar Singh -- a retired Indian Administrative Service officer -- Manjeet Singh, K S Kumre, Bhagcharan, Kundan Rajpal, Mansharam, Udal Pratap Singh, Thakur Gyan Singh and Rewaram.

The byelection was necessitated by the death of BJP MP Vijay Kumar Khandelwal. The saffron party has fielded his son while the Congress nominee is also the MLA from Masod.

UNI XC-AC 2151

Please Wait while comments are loading...