Congress announces candidate for Khalilabad LS bypoll

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Lucknow, Mar 24 (UNI) Uttar Pradesh Congress today announced the name of Sanjay Jaiswal as the party candidate for the Khalilabad Lok Sabha by-election to be held on April 12.

Announcing the name of Mr Jaiswal, party's state president Rita Bahuguna Joshi here said the candidate had received about 35,000 votes during the last assembly election from Ramnagar assembly segment of Parliament seat.

However, the party is yet to decide on the name of the candidate for the Azamgarh Lok Sabha seat.

Ms Joshi had given ticket to Ms Rama Mishra for the Colonelganj assembly seat in the upcoming by-election, yesterday.

By-election for the two Lok Sabha and three Assembly seats will be held on April 12.

Last day for filing nomination is March 26.

The by-election for the two Lok Sabha seat was necessitated, due to disqualification of the BSP members Bhalchand Yadav (Khalilabad) and Ramakant Yadav (Azamgarh) under Anti-Defection Law.

Bilgram assembly seat fell vacant, following the demise of sitting BSP member Upendra Tiwari. Sitting Congress members Ajay Pratap Singh had resigned from the Colonelganj seat and joined the BSP. Similarly, independent MLA Rajpal Tyagi had resigned from Moradnagar seat (Ghaziabad) and joined the BSP.


Please Wait while comments are loading...