Cong announces candidate for Cornelganj bypoll

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Lucknow, Mar 23 (UNI) Uttar Pradesh Congress president Rita Bahuguna Joshi today declared Smt Rama Mishra its candidate for the Cornelganj Assembly seat in the upcoming by-election.

In 2002, Smt Mishra feilded on Congress ticket for the same seat and received 17,000 votes.

So far, no party had announced its candidate for the parliamentary seat.

Notification for the two Lok Sabha and three Assembly by-elections, scheduled for April 12, was issued on March 19.

Last day for filing nomination is March 26, while scrutiny of papers would be done on March 27.

The candidates can withdraw their nominations till March 29. The counting of votes would be taken up on April 16.

The by-election for the two Lok Sabha seat was necessitated, due to disqualification of the BSP members Bhalchand Yadav (Khalilabad) and Ramakant Yadav (Azamgarh) under Anti-Defection Law.

Bilgram assembly seat fell vacant, following the demise of sitting BSP member Upendra Tiwari. Sitting Congress members Ajay Pratap Singh had resigned from the Cornelganj seat and joined the BSP. Similarly, independent MLA Rajpal Tyagi had resigned from Moradnagar seat (Ghaziabad) and joined the BSP.


Please Wait while comments are loading...