Khalilabad bypoll: Preparations on in full swing

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Siddharthnagar, Mar 18 (UNI) Preparations are on in full swing for the Khalilabad bypoll, scheduled to be held April 12.

The Khalilabad by-election was necessitated following disqualification of BSP member Bhalchand Yadav under the Anti-Defection Law.

Talking to UNI, Deputy Returning Officer Harishankar Upadhyay said model code of conduct was imposed in Basti, Sant Kabirnagar and Siddharthnagar districts of the Basti division soon after the Election Commission (EC) announced the poll dates.

The Khalilabad segment is spread into Basti, Sant Kabirnagar and Siddharthnagar district of Basti division.

Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Mayawati yesterday announced the names of the party candidates for the two Lok Sabha and three assembly by-elections in the state to be held on April 12.

Akbar Ahmed Dumpy would contest from Azamgarh LS seat, while Bhim Shankar Tiwari would contest from Khalilabad LS seat.

Rajni Tiwari, the widow of Upendra Tiwari would be the party candidate from Bilgram assembly seat in Hardoi district, Kubri Brij Singh from Karnelganj assembly seat in Gonda and Rajpal Tyagi from Moradnagar assembly seat in Ghaziabad.

The by-election for the two Lok Sabha seat was necessitated, due to disqualification of the BSP members Bhalchand Yadav (Khalilabad) and Ramakant Yadav (Azamgarh) under Anti-Defection Law.

Bilgram assembly seat fell vacant, following the demise of sitting BSP member Upendra Tiwari. Sitting Congress members Ajay Pratap Singh resigned from the Cornelganj seat and joined the BSP and similarly, independent MLA Rajpal Tyagi resigned from Moradnagar seat and joined the BSP.

Nominations for the by-elections would start from Wednesday, while the counting of votes would be taken up April 16.


Please Wait while comments are loading...