Deora, Chauhan file nominations for RS

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Mumbai, Mar 14 (UNI) Union Petroleum Minister Murli Deora and Minister of State in the Prime Minister's Office (PMO) Prithviraj Chauhan today filed their nomination papers for the biennial Rajya Sabha elections. Their present term ends next month.

Yogendra Trivedi and Janardan Waghmare filed their papers as NCP candidates while industrialist Rajkumar Dhoot and ''Maharashtra Times'' editor Bharat Kumar Raut filed papers as Shiv Sena nominees.

BJP spokesman Prakash Jawadekar will file his papers.

For the Legislative Council, those who filed their nominations today include Upper House chairman Shivajirao Deshmukh, Sudhakar Gangane and Jaiprakash Chhajed (Congress), Minister of State for Industries Rana Jagjitsinh Patil, Hemant Takle and Sanjay Patil (NCP), and Neelam Gorhe and Kiran Pawaskar (Shiv Sena).

The last date of filing of nominations is March 15. The last date of withdrawal of nominations is March 19.


Please Wait while comments are loading...