Rio accommodates 33 DAN MLAs

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Kohima, Mar 13 (UNI) Altogether 33 of the 35 Democratic Alliance of Nagaland legislators were accommodated in the Nagaland Peoples Front (NPF)-led Neiphiu Rio ministry.

Besides 12 ministers, including himself, Mr Rio has appointed 13 Parliamentary Secretaries from the NPF legislators.

Yitachu, R Khing, Naiba Konyak, Wochumo Kithan, T Sakusangba Aier, S Heno, T Torechu and R Tohanba were from NPF while Yangthungo Patton was appointed from BJP, Pangnyu Phom (NCP) and K C Nihoshe, Chotisu Sazo and P Dako Phom (Ind).

Mr Rio also appointed NPF legislators E E Pangteang as Adviser of Department of Underdeveloped Areas (DUDA), Neikiesalie Nicky Kire as Chairman of Nagaland Handloom and Handicraft Development Corporation, Dr Nuklutoshi as Chairman of Nagaland Industrial Development Corporations and Nagaland Hotels Corporation, Vikho-o Yhoshu as Chairman of Development Authority of Nagaland, Neiba Kronu was appointed as Chairman of Nagaland Khadi and Village Industries Board while L Temjen Jamir as Adviser of Nagaland Bamboo Development Agency.

C L John has become the Chairman of MARCOFED and Independent member Kipili Sangtam was appointed the Chairman of Nagaland State Mineral Development Corporation.

Congress' Z Lohe was appointed as the Political Advisor to Chief Minister in the Cabinet rank.

The two NPF members left without any appointment are former Nagaland Assembly Speaker Kiyanilie Peseyie and Ralanthung.

The posts of Speaker and Deputy Speaker of the Assembly are also lying vacant.

Meanwhile, Governor K Sankaranarayanan has sworn-in Neikiesalie Nicky Kire as the Pro-Tem Speaker today in presence of Chief Minister Rio and his Cabinet.

The Cabinet will today to discuss various matters, including 2008-2009 budget, official sources said.


Please Wait while comments are loading...