Rio administers oath to 13 Parliamentary Secretaries

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Kohima, Mar 12 (UNI) Newly elected Nagaland Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio today administered the oath of office to 13 legislators as Parliamentary Secretaries soon after he was sworn-in as the 15th Chief Minister.

Of the total 13 MLAs, Mr Rio allocated berths of Parliamentary Secretary to three Independent members, eight members from his party, Nagaland Peoples Front (NPF), and one each to his Democratic Alliance of Nagaland (DAN) partners, the NCP and BJP.

Six Independent members had been elected to the Assembly of whom five of them extended support to the DAN unconditionally.

The oath of office as Parliamentary Secretary was administered to R Khing, Yitachu, Sakusangba, Wochumo Kithan, Naiba, S Heno, R Tohonba and Torechu (NPF), Chotisuh Sazo, C K Nihoshe and P Dako Phom (Independent), Yanthungo (BJP) and Pangnyu Phom (NCP).

Earlier, NPF-led DAN leader Neiphiu Rio was sworn-in along with 11 of his Council of Ministers.

Governor K Sankaranarayanan administered the oath of office and secrecy to all the 12 ministers at an impressive function in the Durbar Hall of Raj Bhawan.

The other ministers, who were sworn in, included T R Zeliang, Khuzholuzo, Ngangshi K Ao, Imkong L Imchen, Doshehe, G Kaito, Chumben Murry, M C Konyak, Nyeiwang and P Longon. Their portfolios were yet to be allocated.

The NPF-led DAN government had been installed for the second time under the Chief Ministership of Mr Rio.

Congress Legislature Party leader I Imkong, Advisors to the Governor, Chief Secretary and senior officials were also present at the oath-taking ceremony.

Mr Rio had been in power till President's Rule was imposed in the state on January 3. He was short of only 70 days to complete his five-year term of the DAN Ministry.

The alliance, having a strength of 35 members and comprising the NPF (26), BJP (2), NCP (2) and Independent (5), had supported Mr Rio unconditionally. The Congress with 23 seats is the second largest party in the state.

In the 60-member Assembly, results of 59 constituencies had so far been declared.


Please Wait while comments are loading...