46 Left Front MLAs administered oath in Tripura

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Agartala, Mar 12 (UNI) Pro-tem Speaker Samir Deb Sarkar today administered the oath of office and secrecy to 46 Left Front MLAs in Trupura Assembly.

The MLAs included two women members.

All eleven Opposition members of the House along with three senior Left Front members - Health Minister in the outgoing Assembly Tapan Chakraborty, Labour Minister Fayzur Rahaman and former Minister Subodh Das- did not attend the function.

The MLAs of the Congress-INPT combine declined to take oath today, alleging that the CPI(M) cadres were letting lose a reign of terror on their rank.

In a letter to Assembly secretary S M Lodh, the party demanded to organise separate oath taking ceremony on March 14.

Governor D N Sahaya had administered the oath of office to Pro-tem Speaker Mr Deb Sarkar yesterday at Raj Bhawan.

The Opposition members refused to participate in the function, citing that their members would not leave the constituencies because of post-poll violence.

The CPI(M)-led Left Front won for the fourth consecutive term, winning 49 seats in the 60-member House this time.

The Governor administered the oath of office and secrecy to 12 members on Monday and Pro-tem Speaker yesterday.

UNI BB PP/src1721

Please Wait while comments are loading...