Newly elected MLAs in Meghalaya to take oath today

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Shillong, Mar 10 : All the 59 newly elected MLAs in Meghalaya will be administered the oath of office at a ceremony in Raj Bhavan today.

With taking oath, the formality of constitution of new house will be completed.

Governor S S Sidhu has set Monday as the deadline for formation of the new government in the State.

The Assembly elections results in Meghalaya on March 7 had produced a fractured mandate with no party getting a clear majority.

The ruling Congress emerged as the single largest party with 25 seats and is expected to return to power at the head of a coalition with help from its regional allies and independents in the 60-member House.

Chief Minister DD Lapang won his seat but the party fared poorly in the Garo Hills region. The Nationalist Congress Party (NCP), led by a former parliamentary speaker, Purno Agitok Sangma, won 14 seats in all.

Please Wait while comments are loading...