Three national records at the University aquatics

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Thiruvananthapuram, Feb 27 (UNI) Three new records were created on the third day of the All India Inter University Aquatic Championship held here today.

Tejawini V of Bangalore University craeated the national record in the 200 m medley with a timing of 02:51:31. In the 50 m men's backstroke, Balakrishna M B of Anna University (00:28:75) and Amreen Malik of Andhra University in the 50 m women's backstroke (00:35:18) were the other records created today.

Bangalore with 96 points were on the top position followed by Calicut University (50 points) and and Andhra University in third position with 35 points.

In the 4 X 200 m women's freestyle relay, Calicut university came first (09:55:74), Kerala University (10:09:16 ) finished second and Bangalore University (10:36:42) came in the third position.

Kerala university boys won the first position in the men's 4 x 100m freestyle relay (04:00:68). Delhi University came second (04:03:78) and Madras University came third (04:04:65) in the same event.

In the 3 metre spring board women's diving, Sonal Sisodiya of Indore DAV University came first(143.85 points). Rasika Shriram of Solapur University came second (141.30 points) and Neha Naik of Pune University finished third (136.85 points) In the men's 3 metre spring board diving, Rohan Sambrani of Mumbai University emerged the winner ( 229.05 points). Tarun Saini of delhi University came second ( 193.20 points) and Naveen Kumar Yadav of MGKVP , Varanasi finished third (187.45 points).

In 50 m back stroke, Amreen Malik of Andra university created a new national record by shattering the record laid by Sony Cyriac and returning a timing of 00:32:80 Tejawini V. of Bangalore University came second (00:33:56) and Sony Cyriac of Kerala Agricultural University finished third(00:35:96).

In the second 50m men's back stroke, Balakrishnan M B of AnnaUniversity bettered his own record and created a new record by returning at a timing of 00:27:83. Chaturvedi Chanunjay of Gujarat University came second (00:30:88). Tarun Kumar Tokas of Delhi finished third (00:30:96).

In 200 m individual medley for women, Tejaswini of Bangalore created a new record (2:43:72). She bettered the record laid by Shika Tandon in 2005. Shilpa Naidu of Andhra University came second(02:47:18) and Pooja Ghorpade of Pune finished third(02:48:30).

In 200 m individual medley for men, Rehan Poncha of Bangalore came first (02:14:75), Srinand Srinivas of Rajeev Gandhi University came second(02:17:45) and Abhishek V. of Bangalore finished third(02:19:30).

In 400 m womens free style Tejawini of Bangalore earned her second first place of the day(04:53:88). Shilpa Naidu of Andra University came second ( 02:55:71) and Josna P.Joy of Calicut finished third( 04:59:97).

Rehan Poncha secured his second first position of the day In 1500 m mens free style (17:14:66). Sriniad Srinivas of Rajeev Gandhi University finished second (17:44:69) and Abhishek V of Bangalore finished third (17:57:35).


Please Wait while comments are loading...