DAN to continue as a pre-poll alliance

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Kohima, Feb 26 (UNI) The Nagaland Peoples Front (NPF), BJP, Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) and JD(U) have resolved to continue the Democratic Alliance of Nagaland (DAN) as a pre-poll alliance for contesting the March 5 Assembly elections in the state.

A resolution, signed by 14 leaders of the parties, stated that even though the alliance partners may have different election manifestoes, all the parties constituting the alliance will formulate a Common Minimum Programme (CMP) for good governance, which will be released well ahead of the Assembly elections.

The alliance partners affirmed that regardless of the political situation that may prevail in the state after the elections, they will not dissociate.

''In the event of separation by any or all members of a party in the alliance, it will be deemed as defiance of the party leadership and discipline of the political party concerned, attracting the provisions of the Anti-Defection Law as clearly laid down by the Lok Sabha Speaker in the recent defection case by BSP MLAs in January this year,'' the resolution added.

The alliance partners, by mutual consent and consultations, may admit into the alliance, during and after the elections, any political party or alliance of political parties to enlarge the DAN, with or without reviewing and revising the CMP for good governance, the resolution said.

The alliance may also permit Independents, who may emerge victorious in the election, to extend support to it in any form within the framework of the Anti-Defection Law.

The resolution also said the alliance partners will have an apex Central Coordination Committee to keep reviewing and considering the implementation of the CMP.

Further, the alliance will constitute district-wise monitoring committees to assess and report to the Central Coordination Committee the implementation of the CMP for continuously feeling the pulse of the people and to take further steps, including any corrective measures.

The resolution was signed by DAN partners on February 7, with outgoing Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio (NPF) as Convenor, Dr T M Lotha (BJP) as co-convenor, Vedayi Nyekha (BJP) as member secretary and Shurhozelie (NPF), M C Konyak (BJP), Ato Yepthomi (BJP), Sulanthung Lotha (NCP), Povotse Lohe (NCP), Chinny Magh (NCP), Lima Temjen JD(U), Mhonjan Lotha JD(U) and T P Yaeih JD(U) as members.


Please Wait while comments are loading...