Popular leaders defeated in Pak elections

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Islamabad, Feb 19: Pakistan Muslim League (PML) Chief Chaudhry Shujaat Hussein and the former Railways Minister Sheikh Rashid Ahmed were defeated in elections in their respective constituencies.

According to the Daily Times, reports, former minister and Pakistan People's Party (PPP) General Secretary Chaudhry Ahmed Mukhtar emerged a winner after defeating Chaudhry Shujaat Hussein by at least 13,293 votes. Dr. Firdaus Awan defeated former National Assembly speaker Chaudhry Amir Hussain. Dr. Sher Afgan Niazi (PML-Q) and Khursheed Mehmood Kasuri were also defeated in their respective constituencies.

Maulana Fazlur Rehman, Rao Sikander and Chaudhry Shahbaz were defeated. Two other candidates Alhaaj Mirza Saeed Baig and Chaudhry Gul Nawaz failed to pocket any votes.

Early counting results so far indicates that President Pervez Musharraf and his supporters from the PML-Q are struggling while both the PML(N) and the PPP are neck to neck.

The count at 12:30 pm stood as follows:

PPP - 77

PML(N) - 62

PML (Q) - 34

MQM, or the Muttahida Quami Movement - 16

Awami National party - 10

PPP (S) The Shahid Bhutto Faction - 1

PML(F) led by Sherpao - 4

Independents - 21


Please Wait while comments are loading...