Chandigarh claim top honours in national Table Soccer

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Chandigarh, Feb 3 (UNI) Hosts Chandigarh claimed the overall trophy in the Rajiv Gandhi Memorial National Table Soccer Championship at the Banyan Tree School in Sector 48 here today.

Punjab were awarded the women's trophy while Chandigarh excelled in the boys section to annex the trophy.

The Maharashtra pair of Saurabha Chander Pawar and Sheetal defeated their team mates Aditya and Monika (3-1) in the mixed doubles final in the above 19 years category. The third place also went to Maharashtra pair of Vishal and Priyanka who beat Durvesh and Kirti of Chandigarh 3-0.

Local girl Jyoti Kaushik prevailed over Gurkaran Singh of Punjab 4-2 in the mixed open singles final.

Table Soccer Federation of India chairman Ravinder Talwar distributed the prizes. Tarandeep Kaur of Punjab outplayed Harpreet Kaur of Haryana by 5-0 in the girls under-12 singles final.

Results: Boys: Under-10 singles: Yatin Ahuja (Delhi) bt Devinder Singh (Punjab) 5-2. For third and fourth positions: Amit Singh (Rajasthan) bt Kunal (HP) 5-1.

Under-19 doubles (final): Rahul Saini and Rohit Brar (Haryana) bt Devesh Dabas and Naveen Singh (Delhi) 5-2. For third and fourth positions: Neeraj Verma and Talvir Singh (Punjab) bt Ashish Gaur and Druv Rajput (Delhi) 5-1.

Girls: Under-12 singles (final): Tarandeep Kaur (Punjab) bt Harpreet Kaur (Haryana) 5-0. For third and fourth positions: Gurinder Sandhu (Haryana) bt Shewata Panwar (Raj) 5-4.

Above 19 girls doubles (final): Kirti and Sheetal (Chd) bt Monika and Priyanka (Mah) 5-1. Third place: Gurleen and Gurinder (Haryana).

Mixed doubles above U-19 (final): Saurabha Chander Pawar/Sheetal (Mah) bt Aditya / Monika (Mah) 3-1. For third and fourth positions: Vishal/Priyanka (Mah) bt Durvesh/Kirti (Chd) 3-0.

Open doubles (boys) final: Ankur/Arshad (Chd) bt Sarabjeet Singh/Ankit Bansal (Chd) 4-0. For third and fourth positions: Ashok/Harshwinder (Punjab) bt Sukhwant/Jaspreet (Punjab) 4-2.

Mixed Open singles (final): Jyoti Kaushik (Chd) bt Gurkaran Singh (Punjab) 4-2. For third and fourth position: Ankur (Chd) bt Hardyal (Punjab) 4-3.

Open singles girls (final): Tarandeep Kaur (Punjab) bt Sheetal (Chd) 3-2. For third and fourth positions: Priyanka (Mah) bt Shewata Panwar (Raj) 3-1.

Team positions: Overall Trophy: Chandigarh.

Women's Trophy: 1 Punjab, 2 Chandigarh, 3 Maharashtra.

Men's Trophy: 1 Chandigarh, 2 Delhi and 3 Rajasthan.


Please Wait while comments are loading...