BJP announces second list for Meghalaya polls

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Shillong, Feb 1 (UNI) The Bharatiya Janata Party today announced its second list of three candidates, including a woman, for the March 3 Assembly elections in Meghalaya.

The BJP has allotted a ticket to former Congress MLA Nit Shabong for Sohiong constituency. His main rival is sitting Congress MLA and former Home Minister HDR Lyngdoh.

Ms Manosha Warjri, the lone lady among the BJP candidates is pitted against Congress minister Charles Pyngrope for Sohryngkham constituency. The BJP also allotted a party ticket to Atilson Sangma for Dalamgiri constituency in West Garo Hills District.

The BJP had earlier announced a list of 20 candidates, which includes two-time sitting party MLA from Pynthorumkhrah, AL Hek.

Sitting MLA from Laban constituency, Jopsimon Phanbuh opted out of the polls after nominating a retired government employee Edward Kharwanlang to contest from the seat.

Former Non-Tribal Youth Union Leader (NTYU) Vijay Raj would contest on the BJP ticket from Mawprem seat.


Please Wait while comments are loading...