Kareena, Shahid win best actor, actress for 'Jab We Met'

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Mumbai, Jan 28 (UNI) Shahid Kapur and Kareena Kapoor have been adjudged the best actor and actress respectively for their performance in last year's runaway hit 'Jab We Met' at the Max Stardust Awards.

The film was also adjudged the Best Film of 2007 at a gliterring ceremony held here, over the weekend.

The Max Stardust Award stands out in the clutter of countless film awards as it showcases and recognises the relatively fresh talent with the promise to emerge as the superstars of tomorrow.

The awards ceremony, this year, transformed the banal terra firma of the Bandra Kurla Complex into a spectacle of glitz and razzmatazz, said a press release here today.

The MAX Stardust Awards are a salute to the young and dynamic 'generation next' oozing with creative energy and passion in equal measure.

The awards will be telecast on February 16, the release added.

Film director Kunal Kohli and gorgeous diva Neha Dhupia were the perfect hosts for this special evening and kept the audience glued to their seats.

The award ceremony, witnessed dazzling Lara Dutta perform on chartbusters such as ''Move your body'' from ''Johnny Gaddar'', ''Deewangi'' from ''Om Shanti Om'' among others. While, beautiful Kareena Kapoor enthralled the audience with ''Nagada'' and ''Its Rocking'' form ''Jab We Met'' and ''Kya Love Story Hai''.

Rockstar Saif Ali Khan performed on medley of hits from ''Om Shanti Om'', ''Salaam-e-Ishq'', ''Hey Baby'' and ''Race'' his upcoming movie.

Govinda entertained the audience with his numbers from the movie ''Partner'' and ''Bhagam Bhaag''. Neha Dhupia apart from co-hosting the award ceremony danced on popular songs like ''Namak Ishq Ka'', ''Saiya Re'', and ''Mayya Mayya''.

Ranbir Kapoor and Sonam Kapoor were given the Superstars of Tomorrow trophies. Shreyas Talpade received the Breakthrough Performance, male award for ''Om Shanti Om'', while Kangana Ranaut received an award for her breakthrough performance in ''Life In a Metro''.

Shilpa Shukla was the winner of the New Menace award for her act in ''Chak de India''.

Hottest film producer award went to Anil Kapoor for ''Gandhi My Father'' and Shimit Amin received the Hottest Young Filmmaker award for ''Chak de India''.

Sandeep Nath received the standout performance by a lyricist award for ''Yoon Shabnami Pehle Nahi Thi Chandni'' (Sawariya).

Anoushka Manchanda bagged the new musical sensation-female award for ''Aye Chori'' (Cash), while Krishna and Salim Merchant received the New Musical sensation-male award for ''Maula Mere'' (Chak De India).

Debutant music composer Monty Sharma was the winner of Standout performance by a music director award for ''Sawariya''.

In the Reader's choice awards, Tisca Chopra won the best actress in supporting role award for ''Taare Zameen Par''.

Irrfaan Khan was the winner of best actor award in a supporting role for his performances in ''Life In A Metro'' and ''The Namesake''. Arjun Rampal was adjudged the best actor in a negative role for ''Om Shanti Om''.

Star of the Year, the Male award went to Akshay Kumar for ''Namastey London'' and ''Heyy Babyy''. The actor par excellence trophy went to Vivek Oberoi for ''Shootout at Lokhandwala''.

The Dream Director award went to Farah Khan for ''Om Shanti Om'' and the Life Time Achievement award went to legendary actor Dharmendra.


Please Wait while comments are loading...