Lyallpur Khalsa dethrone Govt Model in School Hockey

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Jalandhar, Jan 23 (UNI) Lyallpur Khalsa School wrested the trophy from defending champions Government Model Senior Secondary School by eking out a narrow 1-0 win in the all-Jalandhar final of the fourth All India Sardar Balwant Singh Kapur Memorial Hockey Tournament for Boys Under-17 at the Olympian Surjit Hockey Stadium here today.

The all-important goal was scored by Mandeep Singh Bajwa who converted his team's first of the two penalty corners awarded to them in the 33rd minute.

Holders Government Model had an opportunity to neutralise the lead but failed to capitalise on their second penalty corner in the 47th minute.

In a Hardline Cup, Bihar Regimenal School of Danapur blanked Government Senior Secondary School of Gurgaon by 5-0. In a one-sided match, Bipin Mickey (9th, 56th), David Dung Dung (34th and 49th) and Punit Bhengra (59th) were the goal-getters.

Winners Lyallpur Khalsa School received a cash prize of Rs one lakh and runners-up Govt Model School got Rs 60,000. Bihar Regimental School Danapur were presented a cheque of Rs 40,000.

Amandeep Singh (goalkeeper) of Govt Model, Gautam Paul (fullback) of Lyallpur Khalsa, Neol Dodrai (half) of BR School and Prabhdeep (forward) of Government Model were declared the best players of the tournament by a committee headed by Olympian Ajit Pal Singh. Taranjeet Singh of Lyallpur Khalsa School was the highest goal scorer (six). Each player got Rs 5,000 each.


Please Wait while comments are loading...