CM inaugurates EDUSAT network to interconnect Tech institutes in Del

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Jan 16 (UNI) An Educational Satellite Network interconnecting Engineering Colleges, Polytechnics and IITs in Delhi to facilitate exchange of expertise available in field of technical education in various technical institutions of the city was today inaugurated by Chief Minister Sheila Dikshit here.

Inaugurating the Delhi State EDUSAT (Educational Satellite) Network at Delhi Engineering College at Bawana, the Chief Minister said the network will facilitate exchange of the expertise available in field of technical education in various institutions of Delhi and shall help students of engineering and management to learn state-of-the-art knowledge and also to augment practical skills, which otherwise was not available due to shortage of engineering faculty.

Speaking at the function, where Director of DECU, ISRO M Y S Prasad and Principal of Engineering College Ashok Bhattacharya were present, Ms Dikshit said the setting up of the EDUSAT Network will not only go a long way in improving the delivery of knowledge but also help in developing innovations and creativity amongst the students.

The Chief Minister said EDUSAT, an indigenously designed satellite exclusively devoted to the field of education, is a path-breaking effort in the concept of tele-education.

EDUSAT Satellite can establish the connectivity between urban educational institutions with adequate infrastructure imparting quality education and the large number of rural and semi-urban educational institutions that lack the necessary infrastructure. ''This EDUSAT network is the path through which modernization and upgradation could be achieved easily. This is well designed and most modern amongst the available ones and it possess world-class infrastructure to cater the educational skill development, laboratory, research, designs and development needs of our students,''she said.

On this occasion, Ms Dikshit also interacted with students of four different polytechnics, through EDUSAT linkage facility.


Please Wait while comments are loading...