Political leaders to be affected by delimitation

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bhopal, Jan 10 (UNI) In view of fresh demarcation of boundaries under the delimitation exercise, poll scene in Madhya Pradesh would be quite different during assembly polls scheduled to take place towards the end of this year.

Several political leaders including from both the ruling BJP and the main opposition Congress will be forced to search for new seats with the Centre releasing an ordinance in this regard today.

Political observers believe that redrawing of boundaries would affect electoral chances of some leaders.

Madhya Pradesh consist 230 assembly constituencies and 29 Lok Sabha constituencies. Some constituencies face the prospect of disappearing from the map, while new ones will be created by reshaping existing ones with delimitation becoming effective.

However, number of assembly and Lok Sabha constituencies would remain same.

The number of reserved seats would be increased. The number of Scheduled Caste (SC) reserved assembly seats would be increased from 33 to 35 and Scheduled Tribe (ST) seats from 41 to 47.

The number of Scheduled Caste (SC) reserved Lok Sabha seats would be reduced from 20 to 19, while Scheduled Tribe (ST) seats would be increased from 9 to 10.

Jhabua, Seoni and Shajapur Lok Sabha seats will disappear, while Ratlam, Tikamgarh (both reserved) and Dewas would come into existence.

Political leaders to be affected include cabinet ministers Ajay Vishnoi, Narottam Mishra, Jagdish Deora and Moti Kashyap and Minister of State Meena Singh and Gangaram Patel.

Besides, senior Congress leader Sriniwas Tiwari, SP legislator Vijay Bahadur Singh, JD(U) legislator Saroj Bachchan Nayak and BJP leaders Dhal Singh Bisen, Archana Chitnis and Deepak Joshi would be affected.

Union Minister Arjun Singh's home seat Sidhi would be changed from reserved to general seat. Mr Singh could derive political benefit because of it due to political equations.

The delimitation exercise has changed scenario in the state capital where number of assembly seats has increased from four to seven. This would lead to number of aspirants vying for the seat within the BJP and the Congress.

A new seat 'Rau' has come into existence in Indore, while Majhauli seat of Jabalpur and Naraujabad (ST) of Umaria has disappeared.

UNI SD-PS 1859

Please Wait while comments are loading...