12 young scientists awarded, Prez misses function

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Visakhapatnam, Jan 5 (UNI) Twelve young scientists, including two from IIT, Kanpur, one from IIT, Mumbai, and one from Delhi University, today received the Indian Science Congress Association (ISCA) awards in different disciplines.

Two scientists were not present to receive the awards at the 95th Indian Science Congress at Andhra University.

The awards, which the President of India gives away every year before opening the Children's Science Congress, was presented this time by Minister of State for Women and Child Welfare Renuka Chaudhary.

President Pratibha Patil did not come for the function as she had a pre-scheduled visit to Hyderabad.

Among the awardees were J Ramkumar and Pradeep Rai (IIT Kanpur), Renu Mohan (IIT Mumbai), Mukesh Jain (South Campus, Delhi University), Vidisha Majumdar (Jadavpur University) and Poornima Parashar (Punjab University).

Three scientists, including Andhra University Vice-Chancellor L Venugopal Reddy, received the Presidential medals.


Please Wait while comments are loading...