CPI(M) retains Balagarh Assembly constituency

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Kolkata, Jan 02 (UNI) The CPI(M) retained the Balagarh Assembly seat when its candidate defeated the Trinamool Congress nominee in the December 29 by-election, the results of which were declared today.

Hooghly District Magistrate (DM) Vinod Kumar Seth said Mr Bhuban Kumar Pramanik of the CPI(M) was declared elected by a margin of 8,410 votes over his nearest rival Mr Asim Majhi of the Trinamool Congress.

While Mr Pramanik cornered 60,101 votes, Mr Majhi secured 51,691 votes. BJP nominee Banshi Rout had a share of 8,833 votes while Congress candidate Biswanath Malik finished fourth with 5,864 votes.

The by-election was necessitated following the death of Mr Dibakar Rout, the sitting MLA of the CPI(M). However, in the last Assembly elections held in 2006, the CPI(M) had won the seat by more than 18,000 votes.


Please Wait while comments are loading...