Pakistan Judges administered fresh oaths

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Islamabad, Dec 15: As many as 14 Judges of the Pakistan Supreme Court, who were appointed after emergency was imposed in the country, were today administered fresh oaths of office after President Pervez Musharraf lifted emergency in the country. The Judges had earlier took oaths under the Provisional Constitutional Order promulgated by President Musharraf on November 3, under which the Constitution was kept in abeyance.

Fourteen judges of Supreme Court including Chief Justice Abdul Hameed Dogar and four judges of Federal Shariat Court including its Chief Justice took oath of their offices under the revived Constitution. President Musharraf administered the oath to Chief Justice Dogar and Chief Justice of Federal Shariat Court (FSC) Justice Haziqul Khairi, and three other FSC judges Justice Allama Dr Fida Muhammad Khan, Justice M Zafar Yasin and Justice Salahuddin Mirza at a ceremony held at Aiwan-e-Sadr.

The ceremony was attended by caretaker Prime Minister Mohammadmian Soomro, federal ministers, services chiefs and senior civil officials.

Later, Chief Justice Abdul Hameed Dogar administered oath to the judges of Supreme Court including Justice Nawaz Abbasi, Justice Faqir Muhammad Khokhar, Justice M Javed Buttar, Justice Ejaz ul Hassan, Justice Mohammad Moosa K Leghari, Justice Muhammad Akhtar Shabbir, Justice Mian Muhammad Farooq, Justice Syed Zawwar Hussain Jaffery, Justice Syed Ashhad, Justice Muhammad Qaim Jan, Justice Chaudhry Ejaz Yousaf, Justice Zia Pervez and Justice Syed Sakhi Hussain Bukhari.


Please Wait while comments are loading...