Karnataka Nritya Sangeetha Academy Awards given away

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Mysore, Dec 5 (UNI) Karnataka Nritya Sangeetha Academy Awards for 2007-08 excellence in the field of music was presented at a function here today.

Senior Musician and Purandaradasa Award Winner R K Srikantan presented the awards on the occasion. Musicologists Dr R Satyanarayana and Manu Baligar Director of Kannada and Culture were present.

Academy chairperson Rajashekara Manssor said a three-day 'Yuva Prathibha Purasakara' was being held from December ten at Bangalore in which 50 young talents would be given Rs 4,000 each as incentive. A national music programme would be held at Sringeri in January next.

Notable awardees include Carnatic Vocalist M S Sheela, Bharanatyam Artiste Tulasi Ramachandra, Carnatic Vocalist Rathna Shivashankar, Flutist B G Srinivas and Violinist J J Venkatachar.

The institution award was presented to Kumaravysa Mantapa of Rajajinagar.


Please Wait while comments are loading...