Minister inaugurates new TN Dist

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Ariyalur, Tamil Nadu, Nov 23 (UNI) Local Administration Minister M K Stalin today inaugurated a new revenue district with its headquarters here, taking the total number of districts in Tamil Nadu to 31 Mr Stalin also distributed welfare measures to the needy on the occasion. The government had sanctioned Rs 35.90 lakh for purchase of vehicles and furniture among others, according to official sources.

In 2000, the then DMK Government bifurcated Perambalur district and formed Ariyalur district. However, the subsequent AIADMK Government reversed the decision.

Consequent to growing demands from various traders' associations, political parties and others, the DMK Government passed a GO on November 19 ordering bifurcation of Perambalur district and forming the new district.

The new district comprises two revenue divisions -- Ariyalur and Udayardpalayam - - and three taluks -- Ariyalur, Senthurai and Udayarpalayam.

Union Minister of Communications and IT A Raja, State Ministers K N Nehru, I Periyasamy, N Selvaraj and high level officials were among those present on the occasion.


Please Wait while comments are loading...