Six BJP dissidents figure in Phase-1 Congress list

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Ahmedabad, Nov 21 (UNI) The Congress has given tickets to all the six BJP dissident MLAs, who resigned as members of the Gujarat assembly last Saturday, to contest next month's Assembly elections.

The names of the six BJP dissidents--Dhirubhai Gajera (Surat City North), Narendrasinh Jadeja (Abdasa), Gopalbhai G Dhua (Mundra-SC), Bavkubhai Undhad (Babra), Babubhai J Tanti (Dhari) and Becharbhai Bhadani (Lathi)-- were found mentioned in the final list of 20 candidates for the first phase of polls, scheduled for December 11. The Congress announced the list this afternoon.

According to the Congress sources here, the party has nominated the six dissident BJP MLAs who joined the party after submitting their resignations from the House and primary membership of BJP.

In all, eight BJP members opposing Chief Minister Narendra Modi have quit the party. Besides the six, the two others are Siddharth Parmar from Rajkot and Ramilaben Desai of Kheralu who resigned earlier.

For the Rajkot rural seat, the Congress has nominated Senior party member Kantaben Dabhi instead of BJP MLA Siddharth Parmar. The party ignored Mr Parmar despite his name was being recommended by the dissidents.

With today's release of the final list of its candidates, the Congress has completed the process for the first phase of polls. The party had announced the names of 63 candidates past midnight. This has brought 83 seats on the symbol of Congress, while it gave four to NCP as part of the alliance.


Please Wait while comments are loading...