Nomination filing process commences in Gujarat

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Gandhinagar, Nov 15 (UNI) The process of filing of nominations for the first phase of the Gujarat assembly elections, slated for December 11, began today.

Governor Naval Kishore Sharma issued a notification to this effect under Article 15 (2) of the Constitution, Chief Electoral Officer Vinod Babbar told UNI.

The first phase of election will elect 87 members to the 12th Assembly in the state.

Filing of nominations will end on November 22 and scrutiny will take place the next day while the last date of withdrawal of papers is November 26, Election Commission sources said.

The 87 constituencies going to the polls on December 11 are spread across Bhuj, Saurashtra and South Gujarat.

Nominations for the remaining 95 assembly constituencies, which will go to the polls on December 16, will begin from November 21. The state for the first time is witnessing a two-phase poll.

The Election Commission has taken several steps for ensuring free and fair elections, which include removal of dead voters' names and tracing of missing voters in the state. The Commission also increased the EPIC coverage in the state, which was less than 80 per cent, to around 84 per cent. In some areas, the coverage of EPIC is more than 90 per cent, the sources said.

The Commission also carried out ''vulnerability mapping'' in the entire state to ensure that the electorate can cast their votes freely and prevent political workers to rig on the polling day.

Following are the assembly constituencies where polling will be held on December 11 under phase one: Abdasa, Mandvi, Bhuj, Mundra, Anjar, Rapar, Dasada, Wadhwan, Limbdi, Chotila, Halvad, Dhrangadhra, Morvi, Tankara, Wankaner, Jasdan, Rajkot-I, Rajkot-II, Rajkot Rural, Gondal, Jetpur, Dhoraji, Upleta, Jodiya, Jamnagar, Jamnagar Rural, Kalawad, Jamjodhpur, Bhanvad, Khambhalia, Dwarka, Porbandar, Kutiyana, Mangrol, Manavadar, Keshod, Talala, Somnath, Una, Visavadar, Maliya, Junagadh, Babra, Lathi, Amreli, Dhari, Kodinar, Rajula, Botad, Gadhada, Palitana, Sihor, Kundla, Mahuva, Talaja, Ghogho, Bhavnagar North, Bhavnagar South, Jambusar, Vagra, Broach, Ankleshwar, Jhagadia, Dediapada, Rajpipla, Nijhar, Mangrol, Songadh, Vyara, Mahuva, Bardoli, Kamrej, Olpad, Surat City North, Surat City East, Surat City West, Chorasi, Jalalpore, Navsari, Gandevi, Chikhli, Dangs Bansda, Bulsar, Dharampur, Mota Pondha, Pardi and Umbergaon.


Please Wait while comments are loading...