Karnataka has edge over Himachal Pradesh

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bangalore, Nov 14 (UNI) Karnataka has an edge over Himachal Pradesh in the second round of the Ranji trophy elite Group 'A' match to begin at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium here from tomorrow.

Karnataka, led by new Indian Test squad skipper Anil Kumble has a strong batting line up with former Test Captain 'The Wall' Rahul Dravid, who proved his form by scoring double centruy in the first encounter against the defending champions Maharashtra in Mumbai recently.

Kumble, who is away in Mumbai attending BCCI Test team selection for the three test series against visiting arch rival Pakistan, was expected to arrive here tonight.

Coach Vijay R Bharadwaj said ''since the match would be played on the newly laid pitch, I dont know how it would go on''.

However the team was fully prepared and confident of putting up brave fight he added "Though Himachal Pradesh was elited this year we cannot take the team lightly", he added.

Himachal Pradesh skipper Sandeep Sharma said that it would give good exposure to the young players since Karnataka team as stalwarts like Anil Kumble in bowling and Dravid in batting.

"However, Ashok Thakur who scored century in the first match of the Ranji season against Saurashtra and other players are in good form and you can expect good cricket in the next four days".

Both the team had net practice.

Bharadwaj said the same eleven which played against Maharashtra is likely to be retained. However, the final eleven would be decided before commencement of the match.

Sharma also said that the playing eleven would be announced tomorrow.

The Teams: Karnataka: Anil Kumble (Captain), Rahul Dravid, Barrington Rowland, K B Pawan, K Yere Goud (Vice Captain), C Raghu, V S Thilak Naidu, B Akhil, Sunil B Joshi, R Vinay Kumar, N C Aiyappa, Sudhindra P Shinde, Devaraj T Patil, K P Appanna and s Dhananjaya. Coach:Vijay R Bharadwaj. Physio: V Muthu Kumar. Manager: A Raghuram Bhat.

Himachal Pradesh: Sandeep Sharma (Captain), Munish Gupta, Sangram Singh, Manvinder Vishla (WK), Paras dogra, Ajay Manu, Mukesh, vishal Bhalla, Sandeep Singh, Vikramjeel Malik, Ashok Thakur, Varun Mishra, Barun Sharma, Jitender Mehta, and Mahinder. Coach: Rajdeep Kaisi.

Physio: suresh. Manager Shiv Kapoor.


Please Wait while comments are loading...