BSNL drops to fourth position

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Kolkata, Oct 29 (UNI) Bharat Sanchar Nigam Ltd (BSNL) has dropped to the fourth position from its place at the apex as the largest telecom service provider in the country in many circles, BSNL Chief General Manager (CGM) of the West Bengal Telecom Circle Rakesh Agrawal admitted here today.

Addressing a press meet to announce the ''Vishisht Sanchar Seva Padak, 2006-07'' awards for BSNL employees for their distinguished services, Mr Agrawal said, ''The BSNL is facing a very challenging task of survival in the fiercely competitive telecom sector. We have been ousted from our first position in this sector by the innumerable new entrants entering the market every year. Unless we roll out new and attractive services at affordable tariffs in the shortest possible time, it will be extremely difficult for us to march forward.'' BSNL Eastern Telecom Project (ETP) CGM A V Sunderaj claimed that one of the greatest assets the company possessed was its large pool of skilled and experienced manpower.

''None of the private companies in the telecom sector today has such a huge number of employees as the BSNL. Our large manpower has even been considered as a liability rather than an asset many times.

However, our skilled and experienced empolyees have been very sincere and dedicated in providing the best service to our customers throughout all these years,'' he said.

BSNL Telecom Stores CGM S K Garg said, ''These awards are being bestowed with a view to inculcating a spirit of competition and service among our employees and recognising their efforts so as to motivate them to continue their excellent work. The main criteria for these awards are sincerity, dedication and initiative in their respective fields, resulting in overall greater efficiency.'' The awards, distributed under six categories, were conferred on Mr Bimal Kumar Das of the Telecom Stores, Mr Kamal Kanti Das and Mr R K Upadhyay of the Telecom Factories, Mr Subha Chandra Majumder, Mr Debashish Ghatak, Mr Subimal Kumar Kownar of the ETP, among others.


Please Wait while comments are loading...